St Mary's CE Primary School

  1. About Us
  2. Governors
  3. Our Governors

Our Governors

Welcome to the Governors of St. Mary's School

The Governors of St. Mary's are a hardworking and dedicated team who have the future of the School, Staff and Pupils uppermost in their minds. We have seen the school flourish under the expertise of a very dedicated and hardworking Head and her Teachers. We look forward to going further in the future.

Our Chair of Governors is Cath Campbell.  She can be contacted on or via the school office.  Alternatively, you can write to her at:

St Mary's C of E Primary School,

Church Lane,


North Somerset

BS20 7TR


Amy Townsend Acting Head Teacher
Cath Campbell Chair/Collective Worship/Foundation Subjects/H&S 01.09.18 01.09.22
Craig Thomson Vice Chair/Safeguarding 09.12.20 08.12.24
Helen Cave STEM 18.09.19 17.09.23
Rev'd Astrid Tiesema-Samsom Ethos/RE 21.08.18 20.08.22
Zoe White English/Finance 09.12.20 08.12.24
Ellie Speed Staff Governor 08.10.2021 07.10.25
Stephen O'Callaghan Community Governor/SEND 01.10.2021 30.09.25
Claire Blundell Clerk 01.09.19


Name Role Term of Office
Eloise Sinclair Staff Governor 01/05/2017 30/04/2021 Resigned 14/10/2020
Liz Beacon Vice Chair/Foundation subjects 11/03/2019 10/03/2023

Resigned 23/03/2021

Tor Zakaria

SEND 01/09/2018 31/08/2022

Resigned 30/09/2021

Michael Tarlton

Finance 18/09/2021 17/09/2023

Resigned 07/01/2022

Paul Hunt

H&S 23/07/2021 22/07/2025

Resigned 14/01/2022

Bob Sommers

Science 04/01/18 31/03/22



Meeting Attendance Register 2021 - 2022

13/09/2021 04/10/2021 29/11/2021 07/02/2022 28/03/2022 16/05/2022 04/07/2022
Sophie Westerwijk Y Y
Amy Townsend Y Y Y
Cath Campbell Y Y Y Y Y
Craig Thomson Y Y Y Y Y
Bob Sommers Y N Y Y Y
Tor Zakaria N
Helen Cave Y Y Y Y Y
Rev'd Astrid Tiesema-Samsom Y Y Y Y Y
Michael Tarlton N Y N
Zoe White Y Y Y Y Y
Paul Hunt Y N Y
Ellie Speed Y Y Y
Stephen O'Callaghan N N Y
Claire Blundell Y Y Y Y Y

Cath Campbell (Chair)            Chair                     Community Governor

I became a governor at St Mary’s in September 2018 and Chair of the Local Governing Body in September 2020.

 My focus as a governor is ensuring that the children and young people in the school receive high quality education within a safe environment, which enables them to learn, and ensuring the sustainability of the school in the village. 

I am a community governor, but I don't have any children at the school.

My working life is spent regulating healthcare and I have an understanding of good governance. My husband is a secondary school teacher so I have an understanding of the environment which pupils, teachers and schools work within and the challenges they face.

I enjoy working as part of a strong team of governors to ensure that everyone in the school is able to be the best they can be. 

Craig Thomson (Vice Chair)                    Safeguarding    Parent Governor

I live in Portbury village with my wife and our children, a daughter and a son.  I became a parent Governor in 2017 holding the safeguarding role.


Rev'd Astrid Tiesema-Samsom                    Foundation Governor

I am the Rector of St Mary’s Church, the church next door to the school. There is an established connection between the school and the church that is of benefit to the children’s development into the best people they can be.  My role as a Governor has a focus on RE but within the whole picture of learning and flourishing.  I am also a Trustee of Wellspring, a counselling service for teenagers and young people in North Somerset.

Helen Cave                                                Parent Governor (Appointed)


Zoe White                                                  Parent Governor (Elected)

I am a local business woman, living in Portbury with one child at St Mary’s school. I have many years experience in business and thought that some of my expertise could be useful in the role as Governor and I can give back in the area that’s most important to me, being my child's education.


Ellie Speed                                              Staff Governor

Stephen O'Callaghan                             Community Governor


Clerk            Claire Blundell